TCS+ talk: Wednesday, May 27 — Rahul Ilango, MIT

by plustcs

The next TCS+ talk will take place this coming Wednesday, May 27th at 1:00 PM Eastern Time (10:00 AM Pacific Time, 19:00 Central European Time, 17:00 UTC). Rahul Ilango from MIT will speak about “Is it (NP) hard to distinguish order from chaos?” (abstract below).

You can reserve a spot as an individual or a group to join us live by signing up on the online form. Due to security concerns, registration is required to attend the interactive talk. (The link to the YouTube livestream will also be posted on our
website
on the day of the talk, so people who did not sign up will still be able to watch the talk live.) As usual, for more information about the TCS+ online seminar series and the upcoming talks, or to suggest a possible topic or speaker, please see the website.

Abstract: The Minimum Circuit Size Problem (MCSP) roughly asks what the “complexity” of a given string is. Informally, one can think of this as determining the degree of “computational order” a string has.

In the past several years, there has been a resurgence of interest in MCSP. A series of exciting results have begun unraveling what looks to be a fascinating story. This story already reveals deep connections between MCSP and a growing list of fields, including cryptography, learning theory, structural complexity theory, average-case complexity, and circuit complexity. As an example, Santhanam recently proved a conditional equivalence between the complexity of MCSP and the existence of one-way functions.

This talk is split into two parts. The first part is a broad introduction to MCSP, answering the following questions: What is this problem? Why is it interesting? What do we know so far, and where might the story go next? The second part discusses recent joint work with Bruno Loff and Igor Oliveira showing that the “multi-output version” of MCSP is NP-hard.